Back row from the left: Lill-Heidi Bakkerud, Ingrid Elisabeth di Valerio, Stig Lægreid, Rebekka Glasser Herlofsen, Wenche Agerup, Maria Johanna Oudeman
Front row from the left: Bjørn Tore Godal, Øystein Løseth, Jakob Stausholm
Not present: Roy Franklin and Jeroen van der Veer (Photo: Ole Jørgen Bratland/Statoil) 

The work of the board is based on rules of procedure and applicable legislation which describe the board’s responsibility, duties and administrative procedures.

The rules of procedure also describe the duties of the chief executive officer and his/her duties vis-à-vis the board of directors.

Statoil's board of directors has three sub-committees which act as preparatory bodies.